Drawing out the implications

David considers storyboarding

David considers storyboarding - {click for original post}

David tries it out on Advanced Guidance Skills

David tries it out on Advanced Guidance Skills - {click to see the slide}

David reflecting on how it went

David reflecting on how it went - {click to see post on TPB, stuff on anticipation is in the recent post 'Anticipation versus Consummation'}

Interesting reading

Share

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Rachel Power on 30 June 2010 - 17:45

    Thank you for this post! I ran a session for LSE Careers Service staff last week looking at Krumboltz and theories of planned happenstance. I asked participants to reflect on and record moments of ‘happenstance’ in their own lives, using different learning styles – visual, kinesthetic, and linguistic. This led to a fantastically enjoyable reenactment of a ‘brief encounter leading to a job offer’ by my kinesthetic learners, but also storyboarding of key career decisions by those who felt more comfortable with a visual approach. I’m not sure whether I could play so fast and loose with students – the session was for colleagues who knew each other pretty well – but it’s given me plenty of ideas, and seemed like a new and, (dare I say it!) enjoyable way of looking a career decision making.

    • #2 by David Winter on 30 June 2010 - 18:30

      Rachel, thanks for describing this. It sounds like quite a fun session.

      Actually, providing alternative formats (visual, kinesthetic, linguistic) for exploring narratives makes me more comfortable. My concern was that not every one would engage with the visual nature of storyboarding.

      Interestingly, on the course I gave people the option of using words rather than pictures, but nobody took that escape route. However, they were also careers advisers and probably up for more adventurous stuff (especially after the things we had put them through already!). I had also used an example with very simplistic stick figures in it to take the artistic pressure off.

  2. #3 by Ghislaine Dell on 1 July 2010 - 15:55

    I had complete deja vu when I saw this post – having been one of the people that got to try it out on the Advanced Guidance course. I did think about trying to comment in picture form but my drawing skills are bad enough with pen and paper let alone a mouse and keyboard…
    Anyway – it works. The third person bit, I mean. It somehow seemed (for me, anyway) to enable me to realise *how* things had changed. I’m hoping the pictures will help me keep on track with my action planning too – a picture being worth a thousand words, as they say… And it was fun (although maybe others on the course might disagree?)
    I came away wanting to use it with clients – possibly in guidance but definitely in workshops. So I loved the idea of the kinaesthetic approach that Rachel talked about as well. I particularly want to use it with people who are looking at the direction of their career or who come to me wanting ‘a change’, but not able to articulate what that change is. Maybe they would be able to draw it?

  3. #4 by David Winter on 8 September 2010 - 17:52

    From Tristram Hooley at iCeGS

    We’ve been funded by Vitae to run a pilot project on the use of Bill Law’s 3 Scene Storyboarding technique with researchers. We’ll be running a workshop for careers and researcher development people to learn about using storyboarding with researchers on the 19th November. We’ll be making more announcements soon on the iCeGS site about how to book etc – but in the meantime you can email me on t.hooley@derby.ac.uk if you are interested.

    http://adventuresincareerdevelopment.posterous.com/bill-laws-3-scene-storyboarding

  1. Applied Chaos « Careers – in Theory

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,459 other followers

